Friday Fromage: Amadeus

I’m a big fan of cheese, hosting a pretty epic (or so I’ve been told) cheese tasting party for International Cheese Day. I was inspired by fellow blogger and foodie Camilla Mann’s Friday Formaggio post on Culinary Adventures with Camilla, so I’m starting my own weekly cheese tasting for you on my blog too.

Amadeus is a semi-hard Austrian cow's milk cheese, similar to Havarti.

Amadeus is a semi-hard Austrian cow’s milk cheese, similar to Havarti.

To kick things off, I chose a new cheese I discovered at Whole Foods a couple weeks ago. I was looking for a cheese to pair with pate and the cheesemonger suggested I try Amadeus, a mild, semi-hard cheese from Austria.

The flavor is a bit buttery, a bit nutty.

The flavor is a bit buttery, a bit nutty.

Amadeus is a pasteurized cow’s milk cheese that’s aged for at least eight weeks. The flavor is very buttery, with a hint of nuttiness. The texture reminds me a bit of Havarti, if it had a wild party with a Dutch Gouda.

The challah bread from Parker-Lusseau Pastries is great for cheesy toast!

The challah bread from Parker-Lusseau Pastries is great for cheesy toast!

Amadeus melted nicely and would make a great grilled cheese.

Amadeus melted nicely and would make a great grilled cheese.

Ironically, I never got around to pairing it with pate, but I did stick some on Parker-Lusseau challah bread and melted for a few minutes under the broiler, a bit like an open-faced grilled cheese sandwich. (If you haven’t had the challah at Parker-Lusseau, pick up a loaf, stat! It’s a versatile bread that’s great for sandwiches or even just plain old toast.)

Amadeus didn’t quite rock me, but it’s a solid cheese that would be great in grilled cheese sandwiches or a gooey mac and cheese.

(And a big shout-out to the sister for the Cheese Regions of France cheeseboard. So apropos for the Friday Fromage cheese tastings, no?)

This entry was posted in Cheese, Friday Fromage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Fromage: Amadeus

  1. Nice, Raul. I look forward to following along in your cheese adventures!

  2. Pingback: Friday Fromage: Devil’s Gulch | Off The Menu

Leave a Reply

