Best Bites: June 28, 2012

For those of you who missed my column in Thursday’s Go! section of the Monterey Herald, I’m reposting the stories here on my blog. Check out this week’s Best Bite–a recap of the week’s tastiest treat! As an added bonus, check out some extra tasty bites I found this week dining around town.

Best bite: Pappardelle pasta at Restaurant 1833 (Monterey)

Friday night, I popped into Restaurant 1833 for happy hour. I’d planned on just grabbing a drink, but as so often happens, I found myself sticking around for dinner too.

The pappardelle pasta at Restaurant 1833 was so rich and creamy.

I had a great bowl of pasta—pappardelle with braised short ribs, arugula and mushrooms ($23).

The meat was tender, paired with perfectly al dente pasta. I loved the combination of the earthy mushrooms and bitter arugula—the perfect savory supper.

Restaurant 1833 is located at 500 Hartnell Street in Monterey. 831-643-1833. www.restaurant1833.com.

Honorable Mention:
Chocolate pecan pie from Cafe Lumiere (Monterey)

I popped into Cafe Lumiere for an evening pick-me-up the other night and spotted a dessert in the pastry case I simply couldn’t pass up: chocolate pecan pie.

The chocolate pecan pie was a great dessert to pair with bold Acme coffee.

I love pecan pie, but had never thought of pairing it with chocolate. It sounded like an indulgent treat to accompany my cup of joe. The flavors were sweet, but not overwhelmingly so. The salt of the nuts and the buttery crust tempered the sweet chocolate and sugar filling.

Cirilo and Brandi keep the pastry case stocked with any number of sweet pastries and savory bites. It’s always good to keep an eye out, since you never know what delicious combination you might miss!

Cafe Lumiere is at 365 Calle Principal in Monterey. 831-920-2451. www.montereylumiere.com.

This entry was posted in Best Bites, Extra Bites, Herald, Off The Menu, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

