Best Bites: May 31, 2012

For those of you who missed my column in Thursday’s Go! section of the Monterey Herald, I’m reposting the stories here on my blog. Check out this week’s Best Bite–a recap of the week’s tastiest treat! As an added bonus, check out some extra tasty bites I found this week dining around town.

Best bite: Pork cubano at The Haute Enchilada (Moss Landing)

This weekend, I headed up to Moss Landing to escape the stampede of tourists on the Peninsula.

The over-easy eggs were a great complement to the tender carnitas.

I popped into the Haute Enchilada for lunch. When I spotted the pork Cubano — pork carnitas on top of rice with two over-easy eggs ($14.95) — “lunch” turned into a late brunch. How could I pass up two of my favorites together in one plate?

The carnitas were slow-cooked so they were nice and tender. The eggs on top were just slightly runny, a cut of the fork releasing their yellow yolks onto the rice and meat.

The Haute Enchilada Cafe is located at 7902 Moss Landing Road in Moss Landing. 633-5843. www.hauteenchilada.com.

Honorable Mention:
Al pastor tacos at Taqueria del Mar (Monterey)

Taqueria del Mar is a hidden gem on Lighthouse Avenue, and I pop in for lunch at least once a week. Last week, I ordered the al pastor tacos. I’m a big fan of al pastor–tender pork marinated so it’s sweet and savory, then grilled for a nice bit of smoke and char.

The al pastor tacos were especially tasty at Taqueria del Mar the other day.

The al pastor at Taqueria del Mar leans more savory than sweet. The tacos I had the other day were tastier than usual. The pork was so tender, and topped with a fresh and flavorful pico de gallo. It was a great lunch!

Taqueria del Mar is at 530 Lighthouse Ave. in Monterey. 372-7887. www.yelp.com/biz/taqueria-del-mar-monterey.

This entry was posted in Best Bites, Extra Bites, Herald, Off The Menu, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

