Goosing for a baked bite

In case you missed it, my column in this Thursday’s Go! section of the Monterey Herald was a quick round-up of some of recent baked bites I’ve sampled at some of the Peninsula’s local bakeries. I’ll be reposting my reviews and stories from my weekly column for the Herald here on my blog along with extra photos that didn’t appear in print.

Despite its relative proximity to the Monterey Peninsula, Carmel Valley mysteriously feels so far away. I rarely venture into these parts, but it’s a lovely escape full of unique wineries and restaurants — including the hotly anticipated Lokal Restaurant, which should open for dinner service tonight.

One of my friends commutes from Carmel Valley over to work here on the Monterey Peninsula. For a couple morning meetings now, we’ve been fortunate enough to sample some baked breakfast pastries from a Carmel Valley staple, The Wild Goose Bakery Cafe.

Cinnamon buns from the Wild Goose Bakery Cafe make morning meetings more bearable!

This week, she brought in cinnamon buns. They were packed with spicy cinnamon, with a very light hand of sugar. The flavors were almost savory — a welcome change from the usual recipe drizzled in frosting at other shops. I appreciated the addition of finely diced nuts.

I have to confess I’ve actually never set foot in the Wild Goose Bakery Cafe, but after sampling some of their baked goods, it now tops my “to try” list next time I’m out in Carmel Valley.

The Wild Goose Bakery is at 18 East Carmel Valley Road in Carmel Valley. 659-5052. www.yelp.com/biz/wild-goose-bakery-cafe-carmel-valley.

This entry was posted in Herald, Off The Menu, Restaurants, Sweet Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

