The incredible egg

In case you missed it, here is my roundup of my favorite savory dinnertime egg dishes I’ve found at restaurants around town that appeared in Go! section of the Monterey Herald. I’ll be reposting my reviews and stories from my weekly column for the Herald here on my blog along with extra photos that didn’t appear in print.

Who says eggs are just for breakfast? One of my favorite local food trends is the burgeoning abundance of savory egg dishes on dinner menus. In the last couple of weeks along, I’ve sampled some great dinnertime egg dishes.

Eggs aren't just for breakfast anymore!

This tasty tapa features two fried quail eggs atop a scallion biscuit with gravy.

A couple weeks ago, I found a delicious take on biscuits and gravy at Mundaka (Carmel). Gourmet ingredients like a scallion biscuit, jamon iberico gravy and two lightly fried quail eggs made for an elegant small bite that was a playful homage to a classic diner dish.

When I dropped into Cantinetta Luca (Carmel) to redeem my Groupon last week, I decided to try the evening’s special appetizer — two egg-yolk ravioli served with shaved black truffle on top.

It might be a bit pricey, but the egg ravioli at Cantinetta Luca were worth every penny!

The ravioli were beautifully presented, revealing the bright yellow yolk with a cut of my knife. The flavors were so sophisticated, with the truffle shavings adding an indulgent touch of earthy umami.

And earlier this week, my friends and I got together for dinner at Montrio Bistro (Monterey), where we found the bacon-and-egg salad.

Eggs are even appearing on salads, like this one at Montrio Bistro.

Warmed greens were topped with large chunks of bacon, oven-dried tomatoes and a poached egg. Piercing the egg released the yolk, which made for a decadent dressing.

Much like bacon, it’s becoming clear that eggs aren’t just for breakfast anymore.

This entry was posted in Herald, Off The Menu, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

