Baby, it’s cold outside

In case you missed it, here’s my roundup of some of my favorite soup offerings around town that appeared in Thursday’s Go! section of the Monterey Herald.

It’s been awfully chilly these past few weeks, and when the weather outside is frightful, a hearty bowl of soup is in order. But who has the best soups around town? Here are a few of my current favorites:

I haven’t been able to stop thinking about the nabeyaki udon soup I tried at Crystal Fish (Monterey) a couple weeks ago.

Udon is quickly becoming one of my favorite warm, comfort foods this winter!

This soup has it all — chicken, shrimp tempura, fish cake, tofu skin, poached egg and seaweed. It was such a unique combination of flavors, especially when I broke the egg yolk into the soup.

Between the stress of the holidays and the chilly weather, this is usually the time of year I find myself getting sick.

Just last week, one of my friends came down with a bug. Here’s my (not-so) top-secret cold remedy that I shared with him: a big bowl of pho ga soup with extra jalapeños at Chopstix (Monterey, Seaside).

If you think you're getting sick, forget the OJ. Pick up a big bowl of chicken pho!

Chicken pho soup is the unsung cure for the common cold, and the extra jalapeños help bake out the bugs.

Potato kale soup is just one of the delicious, hearty and vegetarian soups available for lunch at Happy Girl Kitchen.

If you’re looking for a vegetarian-friendly soup for lunch, try Happy Girl Kitchen (Pacific Grove). They feature a daily soup, lately favoring hearty potato combinations. The potato kale soup is a bit of a cult favorite around town — it’s filling, with deep, rich flavors, plus it’s vegetarian!

And of course Red House Cafe always has some outstanding soup on the menu. Served in lion bowls, no less! Rawr!

And don’t forget, the Red House Cafe (Pacific Grove) always makes some rich and filling soups. The other night, I sampled a delicious creamy mushroom soup, full earthy mushroom flavor.

This entry was posted in Herald, Off The Menu, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

