Best Bites: July 27-August 2

Yikes–it’s been too long since I’ve posted my weekly Best Bites. So to make up for it, how about a lightning round of posts? Here’s a whole month’s worth of tasty meals!

For those of you who missed my column in Thursday’s Go! section of the Monterey Herald, I’m reposting the stories here on my blog. But wait–there’s more! That’s right, you’ve read about the best thing I ate all week, but what about some of the best bites that didn’t make the cut? Thank god for the internets–now you can see the top three foods I ate this week, complete with mouth-watering photos! Check back each weekend for a recap of the week’s tastiest treats!

Best Bite: Chicken tomatillo tamal from Hermosa Mexican Foods (Monterey)

My friend has gotten me hooked on the tasty tamales from the Hermosa Mexican Foods stand at the Monterey farmers market on Alvarado on Tuesdays.

You can buy frozen tamales to take home, but I much prefer getting fresh tamales to enjoy at market.

These are seriously the best tamales I've ever eaten. No joke.

Steamed in a corn husk, the masa is light, not gummy. Inside is a decent portion of flavorful meat.

I usually get the red chile pork, but tried the green tomatillo chicken for the first time this week. The chicken is tender and has a nice spicy bite thanks to the tomatillos.

I can’t wait for another on the next Tamal Tuesday!

Better Bite: Drunken noodles at Pacific Thai (Pacific Grove)

I never really think to go to Pacific Thai, but one of my friends really wanted to go, so I went along. Wow, I was pleasantly surprised how good my lunch was. 

It may not get as much attention as other local Thai restaurants, but Pacific Thai is pretty tasty.

The drunken noodles were a good mix of sweet and spicy. The noodles were tender, not gummy. And I liked that the onions were soft and tender too—they were so much better than the raw onions I’ve had in noodle dishes from other unnamed local Thai restaurants.

And it was cheap too—they’ve got some great lunch specials here. I’ll have to keep Pacific Thai on my radar for lunch more often now.

Good Bite: Tiramisu gelato at Koko’s Cafe (Monterey)

After I got a tip from my friend about the new owners at Koko’s Cafe on Alvarado and the new gelato case, I decided to swing by after dinner a couple doors down at Full Moon Mandarin. 

Mmmmm. Gelato.

The gelato was mighty tasty, especially the tiramisu gelato. Even though it was a little melted and runny, the flavors were so bold. There was a nice hint of liqueur, along with the sweet chocolate. 

I’ll definitely be back to try more—apparently they’re going to rotate the flavors, with talk of fig gelato coming soon!

Honorable Mention: Maple bambolini at Pavel’s Backerei (Pacific Grove)

Um, best marketing ever? Ha!

I always forget about Pavel’s, but they really do have some great pastries. My personal favorite is, of course, the bambolini. Don’t let the fancy name fool you, these are rely just donuts. And who doesn’t like donuts? 

In my excitement, the bambolini got a little jostled. But they were still tasty!

I had the maple bambolini, and it was the perfect sweet bite. The texture was light, with the perfect balance of sugar so it wasn’t too sweet against the donut cake.

This entry was posted in Best Bites, Extra Bites, Herald, Off The Menu, Restaurants, Sweet Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

