Best Bites: June 15-21

For those of you who missed my column in Thursday’s Go! section of the Monterey Herald, I’m reposting the stories here on my blog. But wait–there’s more! That’s right, you’ve read about the best thing I ate all week, but what about some of the best bites that didn’t make the cut? Thank god for the internets–now you can see the top three foods I ate this week, complete with mouth-watering photos! Check back each weekend for a recap of the week’s tastiest treats!

Best Bite: Crèpes Sarrasin at Bistro Moulin

The new buckwheat crepes at Bistro Moulin were surprisingly rich and light.

While grabbing dinner at Bistro Moulin on a sunny Sunday, I was in the mood for something light and summery, so I chose the Crèpes Sarrasin.

It’s a new preparation for summer — buckwheat crepes wrapped around chicken, mushrooms and spring peas, served in a velouté.

The delicate crepes elegantly topped with pea shoots were a sight to behold. The flavors were rich yet light. And that velouté sauce was sublime — I resisted the urge to lick my plate clean! Magnifique!

Better Bite: Vanilla yogurt with triple berry jam at Happy Girl Kitchen

An simply delicious and delightfully simple cup of fresh yogurt with rich jam.

In a hurry to get to work the other day, I picked up just a quick bite at Happy Girl Kitchen to go along with my Blue Bottle latte. The kitchen had just whipped up a new triple berry jam, featuring strawberries, blueberries and cherries. I couldn’t resist such a decadently rich jam, so I ordered the yogurt with a dollop of fresh jam on top.

Lucy was kind enough to add some fresh strawberries on top, making for an elegant and flavorful light breakfast. Be sure to stop by Happy Girl Kitchen yourself to snag a jar of this delicious new jam for yourself!

Good Bite: Mini donuts from Lil Orbitz Donuts

A new vendor peddling miniature donuts is a welcome addition to the Alvarado farmers market.

So we go from light and healthy dishes like buckwheat crepes and fresh yogurt to . . . donuts. While strolling down Alvarado during farmers market last week, I noticed a new vendor peddling miniature donuts to the masses. I was reluctant to indulge. I passed by once. I passed by twice. By the third time, I had gathered some cohorts and the peer pressure got to me–we caved and ordered a small basket.

The donuts are made to order, fried right in front of your faces. (I have to wonder whether bearing witness to the donut going into the fry oil might hinder their donut sales–some things are better left unseen, right?)

The donuts were fresh and hot–and surprisingly light. They didn’t feel as heavy as other donuts, and I’m not sure if that was due to the small portion or the fact that we’d gotten ours fresh out of the oil. I’d definitely get these little doughy nuggets again!

This entry was posted in Best Bites, Breakfast, Good Food, Guilty Pleasures, Herald, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

