Pastries, petals and (birthday) parties

This past Thursday marked the one-year anniversary for Carmel’s Pastries and Petals. This quaint little shop on Mission, between Fourth and Fifth, serves up a variety of pastries, from cupcakes and cookies to strudel and scones. Over the past year, they’ve expanded their business to feature breakfast and lunch, the occasional wine dinners, a monthly Cupcake Club and much more.

And of course, who could forget Pastries and Petals’ signature pastry–the pumpkin donut muffin. Every time I go to Pastries and Petals, I have to pick up a couple of these donut muffins. (What’s a donut muffin? Well it’s a pastry that’s baked like muffins, but the outside is buttered and rolled in sugar just like a donut.) And sure, the calendar might say it’s summer, but I’m still chowing down on the fruit of fall, pumpkin.

How have I lived 27 years without Pastries and Petals’ pumpkin donut muffins?!?!

I popped into Pastries and Petals last Sunday looking for this sweet treat in particular after grabbing a savory brunch here in Pacific Grove.

The case at Pastries and Petals was packed with the usual suspects–a half-dozen or so different flavors of cupcakes, chocolate chip cookies, muffins, truffles and strudel. I don’t know why, but I realized in all my many visits to Pastries and Petals over the last year, I’d never had the apple strudel. Whaaat?!?! Needless to say, Jennifer, the lead baker, insisted I had to order one, and she prepared a delicious slice of strudel topped with vanilla ice cream andcaramel sauce. Yum! Definitely a great way to celebrate Pastries and Petals’ birthday!

An epic dessert: apple strudel topped with vanilla ice cream and caramel. I'd take this over a birthday cake any day!

Here’s to another year of delicious treats at Pastries and Petals–I can’t wait to see what the next year has in store!

This entry was posted in Desserts, Guilty Pleasures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

